Crafty Nation: Inspire, Empower, Create

Crafty Nation is just another social networking site like Craftster, Craft Bubble, My Craft, Designs to Love, and Indie Public.

How many people have time to catch up in the hundreds of forums and social sites out there? It’s bad enough that facebook and myspace take over your life when you sign up, but add flickr and twitter to the mix with blogging and you have a monster. If you’re a crafter and/or run a business, it gets worse. You’re expected to have an Etsy site – and now it’s knockoff Artfire. You have to blog, tweet, and post bulletins. You have to promote on craft forums. You have to promote on forums in your niche (for me, it’s pin-up lifestyle and punky moms). When does the madness end?

To be successful, you need to be everywhere at once – both on the web and off. This can quickly burn someone out. I do craft shows in between raising a family and sewing til my fingers bleed. There’s simply no time for social networking. When I even try, I get so bombarded that my face gets glued to the computer for days. I tried having my husband take some of the burden off, but he’s not much in the way of forums and chatting people up about my products online.

The biggest offender: Ning – where you can create your own social network for anything. For someone like me, who’s into everything and nothing, I feel like I need to join all the networks. No good! I’ll elgg my own, thank you very much.

So, that’s my solution. I’ll have my own shop – no etsy or artfire). I’ll have my own community (no myspace or facebook – though I already have the sites and I’m not going to go closing the accounts). I’ll keep twitter because it’s cool. I’ll keep blogging and reading blogs. I’ll have conversations via email instead of forums. If I need to find a cool tutorial I check Sew, Mama, Sew and Purl Bee before googling.

People will come to you if you’re in a good niche and have great things to offer. People will come to you if you’re SEO. People will come to you if you hand out flyers and business cards whereever you are. If you build it, they will com.

As for Crafty Nation, they built it, and people come. I, however, won’t. I don’t like the site layout and a lot of the projects are junk or can be find elsewhere. The bad part of these social networks is that there’s no filter. Anyone can join and anyone can post what they make. If it’s junk is a matter of opinion, but mine stands. I won’t make a thing posted. I prefer the filters of certain like minded bloggers that only post quality designs and tutorials.

I do like that they have an events page, but I also don’t like the layout and prefer something a little more directed towards my crowd: Indie Craft Fair Guide.

If it’s your thing, cool. It’s not mine.

About Amanda Suzzi

playful, lighthearted, patient, kind and compassionate.

One response to “Crafty Nation: Inspire, Empower, Create

  1. rAyu28 hpjjmcnwryvk, [url=http://rowdyyebvurl.com/]rowdyyebvurl[/url], [link=http://llszltqtyvxe.com/]llszltqtyvxe[/link], http://xfzncduwnswp.com/

Grab Momma’s Button



Found my Fit @ Lee

Proud to Be

Mommas Current Giveaways

Zero Water Ends April 24th

Kiss My Face Skin Care Products Ends April 22nd

Monsters vs Aliens Video Game Ends April 20th

...and more coming soon.

March for Babies

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 47,502 hits

Note

All products (unless stated otherwise) are provided to Mommas Review for review purposes. We do not receive any other sort of compensation for our reviews unless stated. We promise to provide our sincere and honest review of the product that is received.

Kristin’s Virtual Baby Shower

ExtaOrdinary Mothers

EM Sorority Sisterhood

Team Mom Member

MR is an Ethical Blogger

Ethical Blogger

Click Free

Kristin @ An Ordinary Life

Jennifer @ Rundpinne

Jennifer @ Eighty MPH Mom

Sky @ Seeryus Mama

Casey @ Couch with a View

Casey’s Snazzy Summer

Toni @ Daily Dose of Toni

Live Laugh Love and Bloggings

Amy @ Coffee with the Mrs.

Erin @ Mrs. Cox’s Slice o’ Heaven

Angie @ Simple Life

Queen Mommy Sarah

Lori @ Downs Gang

The Mom Buzz

Stacy @ Tree Root & Wig

Linda @ My Trendy Tykes

Hyla @ Green Earth

Snow Mama

Lolli @ 1 Mom of 5

Ariazink

Paperback Designs

Moo Musings

Collyn @ Mommies Angels

Piece of Me

Lyric and Adrias Mom

A Nut In A Nutshell

Michelle @ Crazy Life

Sweeps Advantage

