iHearSafe – Review and Giveaway

Here’s the scenerio. It happens in my house all of the time, and with my seven year old daughter to boot. She’ll be listening to her ipod shuffle and I can hear it all the way across the room. Now, if I can hear the base and music how loud can it be for her? Imagine how much that must be hurting her hearing, at only seven listening to music at such a loud volume. I’m always telling her to turn them down.

In steps the product iHearSafe, which is such a fantastic invention! I no longer have to worry over the effect of my daughters MP3 player listening on her hearing.  iHearSafe has taught me that when listening to loud music over a period of time it can actually cause damage on your inner ear. This is called Noise Induced Hearing Loss. Sounds louder than 85 decibels can cause this damage. To put it into perspective, a standard MP3 player puts out 120 decibel sound levels!

The first person to test these headphones was my eldest daughter, the seven year old. She grabbed my ipod and immediately plugged in the iHearSafe earbuds. She was very excited that the shape of the earbuds is not the normal shape, which is normally circular. That style always falls out of her ears and upsets her. iHearSafe earbuds have a soft plasticy rubber overlay that fits perfectly into any ear. I asked her how the sound was with the volume all the way. She couldn’t hear me! At seven, she could not notice a different in the sound quality and immediately walked away so she could enjoy the music.

picture-6891

Next I tested the Safe Volume™ Headphones  which are my absolute most favorite headphones ever. They do fit slightly awkward over my ears. They do not a complete cup over my ears. They are, though, very comfortable. The sound quality is much clearer to me than the normal ear buds I use are. I plugged them into my laptop and took some time watching Privileged (cwtv.com). The sound quality was much better than it was when listening through the speakers. Very clear and at no point giving me a headache!

My husband then tested another set of iHearSafe EarBuds – white and blue – on his mp3 player (Sansa Clip). He said he could definitely hear a difference but said that it wasn’t annoying. He put on Korn, which is hardcore loud (and I think obnoxious) music. The strong undertones of the music were not strong or at the extreme point they are normally. I definitely liked that it wasn’t as headbanging loud. Though people who like the headbanging music will not enjoy the slightly dulled quality in this type of music alone.

I love these! I want them for anyone in my family. They are safe, reliable, and super comfortable. I love the idea of allowing my children to listen to their MP3 players, without having to worry about hurting their future hearing.

Mommas Review is giving away three headphones – 2 earbuds and 1 ear clip. That means we will have three winners! All you have to do is follow the below steps.

  1. To be eligible to win one of these bags, go toiHearSafe and tell us your favorite product they offer and why! You must do this to be entered into the contest.
  2. For an extra entry, you can follow us on Twitter. Post a comment here with your Twitter username.
  3. For a third entry you can tweet about this giveaway or post about it on your blog and leave a comment here with either the URL of your post or your twitter profile.
  4. For a fourth subscribe to our RSS feed, leaving a link here to tell us you’ve done so. We’ll be posting more giveaways on Momma’s Review soon so subscribing will be a great way for you to stay informed about all the great things you can win in the days and weeks to come.
  5. As a final entry donate $1.00 (or more if you’d like) to the I Heart Tuckerfund. This can be done through PayPal and your donation would be greatly appreciated! Just visit I Heart Tucker and click on the donate button on the right sidebar, you can also enter raffles on the I Heart Tucker site with donations you have made!  Make sure to come back and tell us you donated.

This giveaway is open to all US Residents (sorry international readers)!

The contest will close at 12:00 p.m. EST on Monday March 4th.

About Andrea @ Red Knows How

I am a telecommuting professional and a Mom of two young girls.

114 responses to “iHearSafe – Review and Giveaway

  1. I love these! Have never heard about them but man, we need them! I LOVE the Colored Safe Volume Earbuds in White/pink for my 9 yr old. She always had her iPod up too loud! Thanks! Jenn

  2. I twittered……. @crazymommie

  3. I follow you on Twitter
    @crazymommie

  4. Angela Bailey

    I love the Colored Safe Volume Earbuds in white/blue because this is one of my fav colors. Thanks.

  5. Angela Bailey

    I follow you on Twitter. I am theladya. Thanks.

  6. Angela Bailey

    I am a subscriber. Thanks.

  7. susan

    I like the Classic Safe Volume Earbuds because I know that when my little one uses them he won’t be blowing out his ears.

  8. susan

    I subscribe.

  9. Janet Carpenter

    I liked the headphones on the safe volume website.

  10. Janet Carpenter

    I follow you on twitter.

  11. Janet Carpenter

    I donated to I Heart Tucker.

  12. i like the silver earclips the best. they just look pretty.

    unbreakablevows@aol.com

  13. i’m subscribed to your rss feed via livejournal.

    unbreakablevows@aol.com

  14. i follow you on twitter. un = tifalockheart.

    unbreakablevows@aol.com

  15. laura

    I love the red ear clips. Ear buds hurt my ears and headphones feel too big sometimes.

    thanks

  16. laura

    RSS subscriber

  17. susan varney

    i like the Safe Volume Headphones i listen to my i-pod all the time and don’t want to over do it

  18. Marilyn Wons

    My favorite item is the Safe Volume Headphone. It is so fine to have the peace of mind knowing that the volume control will always be at a safe level.

  19. Selene M.

    I would choose the Colored Safe Volume™ Earbuds – in white. The maximum db control is so important for children and adults alike

  20. Selene M.

    I subscribe via Google Reader.

  21. Victoria

    I love the Colored Safe Volume Earbuds. They still look cool and prevent sound from exceeding 80 decibels.

  22. MRS.MOMMYY

    Safe Volume™ EarClips – Red look great- they all do- adorable picture

  23. B.W.

    I like the classic safe volume earbuds.

  24. veronica svatos

    I like the classic safe volume earbuds, perfect to protect the little-one’s hearing!

  25. C. clemens

    I love the red ear clips

  26. adrienne Gordon

    the Classic Safe Volume Earbuds because my daughter is always listening to things wayyyy too loud

  27. Margaret Smith

    I think the Safe Volume™ Headphones are a great product. I especially like this for my kids. My 11 year old son listens to his CD player all the time and I’m always telling him to put it lower, it’s too loud. This is a great idea.
    Thanks for this giveaway.

  28. Cynthia C

    I like the Safe Volume Earbuds in Black/Red because I’m concerned about hearing loss. Thanks for the giveaway.

  29. Denyse

    Safe Volume™ Headphones – I would love these for my kids to protect their hearing.

  30. Djp

    thank you, i’d like to have this

  31. Keith Keingarsky

    Thknks

  32. Denise B.

    I like that they have a volume limiter on them.

  33. Patti Sherman

    I like the safe volume headphones..good for my grandchildren to protect their hearing!

  34. Angela J

    safe volume headphones are nice

  35. Tracy

    My favorite was the Colored Safe Volume™ Earbuds – White / Pink

  36. paul haddock

    These ear buds are great

  37. Freddie

    I like the blue earbuds, they’re the coolest!

  38. andrea v

    I love the headphones. My son listens to his story reader and I feel it’s too loud. I’m always asking him to turn it down. This would take care of our issues.

  39. Sarah

    i like the red ear clips, i have ear buds for my ipod right now and they can be uncomfortable

  40. i like Colored Safe Volume™ Earbuds – Black / Red. i like the color black, it will be perfect for dear hubby who listens who watches movies in his laptop with earphones.

  41. reva skie

    I like the Safe Volume™ EarClips – Silver.

  42. Vicky Boackle

    i like the safe volume headphones.

  43. twittered name is shopannies

    shopannies@yahoo.com

  44. Becky

    I love the Colored Safe Volume Earbuds – White / Pink. I always try and buy pink earbuds when I can as I love the colour pink, and I love my accessories to show it. 😀 Thank you so much for offering this giveaway! eyeslikesugar [at] gmail [dot] com

  45. Becky

    I follow you on Twitter. Username: Roweena. 🙂 Thank you so much for offering this giveaway! eyeslikesugar [at] gmail [dot] com

  46. Madeliene

    I like the headphones because personally I don’t like putting the little buds in my ears. Thanks!

  47. Madeliene

    I follow on twitter. MaddyRu

  48. Madeliene

    I tweeted!

    MaddyRuProtect kids ears with this giveaway.http://tinyurl.com/bz7jt8

  49. Madeliene

    I subscribe. Thanks again!

  50. laura

    love the red ear clips because I like red and ear buds hurt my ears. 🙂

  51. Abby

    Colored Safe Volume™ Earbuds – Black / Red just like my wardrobe.

  52. Kathy Scott

    My kids really need the Safe Volume headphones. I am always telling them to turn it down.

  53. dianne

    I love the Classic Safe Volume Earbuds because I know it will help keep the volume at an appropraite level.

  54. amir

    Classic Safe Volume™ Earbuds – White
    Our Price: $19.99
    Beacause: They deliver extremely rich sound quality while offering parents the added peace of mind that comes with our Safe Volume™ technology.

  55. Tommy

    I cant hear 100% so mabye I need Safe Volume™ EarClips – Silver.

  56. Dierdra Byrd

    Safe Volume™ Headphones because I worry about my son playing music to loud.

  57. Carolyn G

    I like the Classic safe earbuds. I like the price. I like that they are earbuds because I loke the buds so much more than the headphones. ANd I like they are safe.

  58. Carolyn G

    I subscribe

  59. Carolyn G

    I tweeted:

  60. badams

    the red ear clips because my son loves red

  61. My daughter would love the pink/white earbuds. She is 8 & has problems keeping the earbuds that came with her mp3 player in her ears…plus she listens WAY too loud.

  62. I follow you on twitter.
    username = jessalexander

  63. I love the earbuds for my kids because it stays secure in their ear — pink for my daughter, blue for my sons.

    bonggamom (at) yahoo (dot) com

  64. I follow you on twitter, I’m @bonggafinds

    bonggamom (at) yahoo (dot) com

  65. I tweeted your contest:

    thanks!
    bonggamom (at) yahoo (dot) com

  66. I think these are a terrific idea! I know sometimes when I listen, I know the volumme is up too high and have to turn it down. I also like the design of the earbuds. I have such problems with earbuds because they’re too big for my ears and cause me pain.

    I’d like the Colored Safe Volume™ Earbuds – White / Pink

  67. Raked

    I’d say definitely the Safe Volume™ Headphones. Even though I can’t carry them around with me, I love them. (So comfy!)

    By the way, I just started to follow you on Twitter! RakedReviews is the name.

  68. Dan

    Safe Volume™ Headphones …would be great for protecting my daughter’s ears.

  69. Jennifer Hedden

    the Safe Volume Headphones

  70. Paula H

    I like the Colored Safe Volume™ Earbuds – White/Blue.

  71. kathy pease

    i like the
    Safe Volume™ Headphones my kids listen to music way too loud these would be great

  72. kathy pease

    following u on twitter klp1965

  73. Marla Morris

    The safe volume products are really an awesome creation! Thanks for leading us to them 🙂

  74. Jessica A

    my son really needs the safe volume headphones, it worries me how loud he listens to his ipod. i’ve never heard of this, what a great product.
    imjessica(at)mail(dot)com

  75. Erma

    I would love the chance to win, thanks.

  76. Candie L

    I really like the ear clips. This is what my kids use when they are playing their video games. Thank you

  77. Candie L

    I subscribed in a feed. Thank you

  78. Christine

    I love the classic safe volume. This is such a coinsidence because my son just recently started asking to listen to my shuffle and I was worried about the volume. Thanks, justicecw@hotmail.com

  79. Christine

    I am a subscriber. thanks, justicecw@hotmail.com

  80. Izzie

    I LOVE the “Classic Safe” earbuds, because protecting your ears is so important!

  81. Pamela S

    I love the color safe earbuds in blue & white. My son listens to his ipod so loud I’m afraid he’ll go deaf!!! I’d love to try some of these for him

  82. Samantha Miller

    I like the Colored Safe Volume™ Earbuds – White / Blue.

  83. Erin Daly

    I really like the Safe Volume Earbuds. The shape looks like it would fit so much better then other headphones.

  84. Erin Daly

    I follow you on Twitter.

  85. Lisa Taylor

    I love the iHearSafe ear buds in white and pink because they will match my daughters Barbie MP3 player which she listens to way too loudly at times

  86. Shawn

    I liked the headphones on the safe volume website.

  87. Debra F

    I love the Safe Volume Headphones because I think it is very important to protect the ears of my children and also because my son doesn’t really care for the buds as much as the headphones. Thanks for the giveaway.

  88. Lisa G.

    I love the Safe Volume EarClips in Red for my youngest son because these would be a little easier for him to keep on his little ears and make sure that he doesn’t turn his volume up to loud like he often does. Thanks!
    lisalmg25 at gmail dot com

  89. Lisa G.

    I’m following you on Twitter. User lisalmg
    Thanks!
    lisalmg25 at gmail dot com

  90. Lisa G.

    I also Tweeted this giveaway! http://twitter.com/lisalmg/status/1277083376

    lisalmg25 at gmail dot com

  91. Lisa G.

    I subscribed to your RSS feed in Google!
    Thanks!
    lisalmg25 at gmail dot com

  92. Michelle H.

    I know people who have hearing loss due to loud music. I love the Safe Volume Headphones and would love the win the buds for one of my kids.

  93. Betty Curran

    I like the Colored Safe Volume™ Earbuds – White / Blue. The colors are great and the safety of our hearing is really important.

  94. Suanne Giddings

    I like the Classic Safe Volume Earbuds – the color is not as important as ear safety. Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this giveaway!

  95. Veronica Garrett

    The Safe Volume Headphones are my favorite product because my daughter is always playing music and I won’t have to worry about the volume being too loud with these headphones.

  96. Janet

    I heart the Safe Volume Headphone.

  97. Lily Kwan

    I love the Safe Volume Headphones because they sound very useful!

  98. Heather C

    I like the red EarClips. I think my ears must be weird. Buds always fall out.

  99. Heather C

    I follow on twitter.
    choochoo428

  100. Laura G

    The silver earclips would match my silver nano

  101. Kaley

    I really like the blue safe volume earbuds!

  102. Kaley

    I followed you on Twitter.

    I am http://twitter.com/hendr508

  103. Kaley

    I Tweeted your giveaway:

  104. Amy

    I like the Safe Volume™ EarClips – Silver because usually earbuds don’t fit in my ear correctly, make my ears hurt, or end up falling out easily.

  105. Amy

    I’m a subscriber! 🙂

  106. Gianna

    I love the Safe Volume Headphones.. The iHearSafe technology prevents the volume from exceeding the safe level of 85 decibels.

Grab Momma’s Button



Found my Fit @ Lee

Proud to Be

Mommas Current Giveaways

Zero Water Ends April 24th

Kiss My Face Skin Care Products Ends April 22nd

Monsters vs Aliens Video Game Ends April 20th

...and more coming soon.

March for Babies

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Blog Stats

  • 47,502 hits

Note

All products (unless stated otherwise) are provided to Mommas Review for review purposes. We do not receive any other sort of compensation for our reviews unless stated. We promise to provide our sincere and honest review of the product that is received.

Kristin’s Virtual Baby Shower

ExtaOrdinary Mothers

EM Sorority Sisterhood

Team Mom Member

MR is an Ethical Blogger

Ethical Blogger

Click Free

Kristin @ An Ordinary Life

Jennifer @ Rundpinne

Jennifer @ Eighty MPH Mom

Sky @ Seeryus Mama

Casey @ Couch with a View

Casey’s Snazzy Summer

Toni @ Daily Dose of Toni

Live Laugh Love and Bloggings

Amy @ Coffee with the Mrs.

Erin @ Mrs. Cox’s Slice o’ Heaven

Angie @ Simple Life

Queen Mommy Sarah

Lori @ Downs Gang

The Mom Buzz

Stacy @ Tree Root & Wig

Linda @ My Trendy Tykes

Hyla @ Green Earth

Snow Mama

Lolli @ 1 Mom of 5

Ariazink

Paperback Designs

Moo Musings

Collyn @ Mommies Angels

Piece of Me

Lyric and Adrias Mom

A Nut In A Nutshell

Michelle @ Crazy Life

Sweeps Advantage

