Dunkin Donuts Dark Coffee

Before my second child, I wasn’t a coffee drinker. There was a short stint in college where I was getting less sleep than a mommy of 2, but that had more to do with lots of boys, lots of partying, and lots of studying than anything else. Jen will attest to our crazy semester of memorizing poetry that I’m sure we’d never use again (except for Jeopardy questions). In that brief moment of my life, I’d attest to being a coffee drinker. In the years since then, I’ve been more of a tea or hot cocoa girl.

Now, with only sleeping 4 hours a night, coffee is my best friend. I prefer a smooth and mellow breakfast blend, but couldn’t pass up the opportunity to try Dunkin’ Donuts Dark Roast.

Upon opening the sample pack to brew, you are assaulted by a rich pungent smell reminiscent of burnt toast. The bean is finely ground at the factory and tasted sweeter than some French Roasts I’ve tried. You can tell just by looking at the grounds that this coffee will brew dark, dark, dark.

After brewing, the scent was very sweet with caramel notes that didn’t betray the underlying bitter taste when drinking the coffee black. Luckily, the sharp and acrid burnt flavor went away after adding milk and sugar.

I once worked at a Dunkin Donuts during a fate-filled stay in Maine. Thus, I know how they use the milk and sugar to round out flavors in the coffee. I also remember the ratios. A splash of milk and 2 spoonfuls of sugar later, and my coffee tasted delicious. The salt in the milk evened out the bitterness, and the sugar sweetened it further.

Now I can see how they describe this blend as robust and full bodied. The texture is still very smooth – exceptionally so for such a dark coffee. Tastes of coffee, caramel, and chocolate are all underlying with no terrible aftertaste.

I’d give this a solid 8 out of 10. They lose 2 points for a terrible smell upon opening the package, and mouth puckering bitterness in a black coffee.

and for Jen: TURNING and turning in the widening gyre…

About the Momma:

Amanda @ funkEpunkEmonkE.com

Mrs. Suzzi Heartbreaker is a homemaker, roller derby vixen, freelance web architect, boutique owner, wife, and mother of two girls. She is a supermom and loves it.

About Amanda Suzzi

playful, lighthearted, patient, kind and compassionate.

2 responses to “Dunkin Donuts Dark Coffee

  1. Andrea @ Red Knows How

    I wish I drank coffee more often, because I would be willing to try this. Actually, I should… I like my coffee (when I drink it) flavored with chocolate and caramel flavors!

  2. My husband really liked this coffee AND he drinks it black but I think he’s crazy! I liked it with milk and sugar and liked it well enough, but I’m not a coffee expert – I drink it and like it or I don’t.

    Just reading that line of the poem made my hands hurt, remembering writing it over and over and over trying to will it into memorization the night before that test – my hand FELL ASLEEP while I was writing it that morning!!

Grab Momma’s Button



Found my Fit @ Lee

Proud to Be

Mommas Current Giveaways

Zero Water Ends April 24th

Kiss My Face Skin Care Products Ends April 22nd

Monsters vs Aliens Video Game Ends April 20th

...and more coming soon.

March for Babies

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Blog Stats

  • 47,502 hits

Note

All products (unless stated otherwise) are provided to Mommas Review for review purposes. We do not receive any other sort of compensation for our reviews unless stated. We promise to provide our sincere and honest review of the product that is received.

Kristin’s Virtual Baby Shower

ExtaOrdinary Mothers

EM Sorority Sisterhood

Team Mom Member

MR is an Ethical Blogger

Ethical Blogger

Click Free

Kristin @ An Ordinary Life

Jennifer @ Rundpinne

Jennifer @ Eighty MPH Mom

Sky @ Seeryus Mama

Casey @ Couch with a View

Casey’s Snazzy Summer

Toni @ Daily Dose of Toni

Live Laugh Love and Bloggings

Amy @ Coffee with the Mrs.

Erin @ Mrs. Cox’s Slice o’ Heaven

Angie @ Simple Life

Queen Mommy Sarah

Lori @ Downs Gang

The Mom Buzz

Stacy @ Tree Root & Wig

Linda @ My Trendy Tykes

Hyla @ Green Earth

Snow Mama

Lolli @ 1 Mom of 5

Ariazink

Paperback Designs

Moo Musings

Collyn @ Mommies Angels

Piece of Me

Lyric and Adrias Mom

A Nut In A Nutshell

Michelle @ Crazy Life

Sweeps Advantage

