Giveaway: Sansa slotMusic Player

Remember when MP3 players first came out? You could put like a whole 128 MB of music on them (okay, I have no idea how much the first ones could hold, but my point here is, things have come a long way since then). Anyway, way back in the day, I remember commenting that, “This would be way cooler if you could put external memory in it.” That way instead of being restricted to whatever amount of memory was considered big that day, you could add bigger memory to it, over time, rather than being forced to buy a new MP3 player altogether. I held off on buying an MP3 player for a long time, stubbornly insisting that my time would come. And okay, I totally caved and own two MP3 players now, except NOW I own THREE. Because the wonderful people at SanDisk apparently agreed with me, all those years ago, and now you can buy the most nifty little device called the Sansa slotMusic Player which uses MicroSD Cards (the same kind of cards that your cell phone or camera might use). The best part? It sells for $20 – seriously, just twenty measly dollars.

The first thing I heard about this music player is that they sell you MicroSD cards preloaded with an album of music. Being the skeptical and tech savvy momma that I am, I thought, “Oh this could go badly. That album is probably locked down with security so I won’t be able to play it anywhere else – and probably only plays THEIR MicroSD cards. How limiting. I don’t do proprietary.” I was SO wrong, thank goodness. SanDisk – they are a smart company and they know what the consumer wants. Let me tell you about this little music player and how wonderfully broad your options are with this thing:

  • First off, all their preloaded albums are DRM free, which means you can do anything you want with this music – play it anywhere you can plug in a MicroSD card, rip the music to your computer, whatever, it’s yours and you own it to use as you see fit.
  • Each preloaded album sells for $14-15, which is roughly the same cost as any CD. You can buy these albums at your local Walmart or Best Buy or directly from Sansa.
  • Even better, the album is on a 1 GB music card and only takes up a fraction of the card. You can plug the card into your computer and transfer some of your own MP3s onto the card and have several albums on one card. If you decide you want a new mix, you can delete albums from the card and add new stuff. If you decide you don’t like the album you bought, just move it onto your computer, delete it, whatever and you’ve still got a perfectly workable MicroSD card to use as you want.
  • Each preloaded album that you buy comes with a MicroSD USB adapter, that allows you to plug the SD card into the adapter and the USB into your computer (to do all that moving). That’s an amazing deal, because those little USB adapters are really cool – my dad has been bragging about his for awhile now and was so impressed when I told him I had two of them that came free with my music.
  • The slotMusic player sells for $20 and you can buy it at Best Buy or directly from Sansa. You can also buy a “bundle” which means you buy a player and an album together for $35 and the player has a fun little “skin” in the theme of the album that you bought with it.
  • So basically for $35 you can buy a music player and a 1 GB music card which has one album of music on it. You can then either buy more MicroSD cards or you can work with that first card and put your own music on it, download music on the Internet to add to it, or buy CDs if you were already doing so. So after that $35 initial cost, you can spend as much or as little as you want to. You aren’t limited to anything.

Alright now for some quick pros:

  • I love how small the player is and while it’s not heavy it feels very sturdy – you know how some things feel like there is nothing to them and they just feel flimsy? The Sansa slotMusic player is not a flimsy music player, it feels just right.
  • It runs on one AAA battery and one standard battery will give you 15 hours of playtime. You could use rechargeables if you wanted to or some of those e2 lithium batteries that have a longer battery life also.
  • The sound quality, in my opinion, was excellent. An amazing quality for the cost, I was very surprised at how GREAT it sounded.

And a couple potential cons:

  • There is no shuffle mode, so you are restricted to simply playing it forwards through each of the albums that you have on the MicroSD card. You can go forwards and backwards of course.
  • There is no display, so if that’s important to you, it may be a deal breaker. Personally, I could care less and those displays are probably the biggest battery drainer in an MP3 player, so this just means more battery life and it also probably drove your cost down considerably.
  • A minor complaint, every time you turn the player on, it will be at full volume. It’s not like shatter your ear drums loud, but it might startle you if you aren’t expecting it. I got used to it very quickly.

In my opinion, this music player would be perfect for a lot of people – if, say, you didn’t use your computer very much and didn’t know much about MP3 players, this device could be perfect since they are selling preloaded albums for you – leaves the techno mumbo jumbo out for the people who need that. At the price, I think it’s an excellent option for anyone on a budget, or perhaps a clumsy person like myself who feels a bit uneasy about carrying around an expensive MP3 player, worrying they are bound to break it. And for those of us who are simply loving the idea of external memory and being able to have full control over what and how much music goes on it, I really don’t think it can be beat.

In short, I liked the Sansa slotMusic player so much that when my husband asked if he could take it on his business trip next week, I told him to go buy his own – and he did.

Would you like a chance to win a Sansa slotMusic player? We are giving one away to one very lucky reader. Here’s how you can enter to win:

  1. Leave a comment telling us what slotMusic microSD card you’d choose if you could from the many that are available. This is mandatory to be entered.
  2. For an second entry you can tweet about this giveaway or post about it on your blog and leave a comment here with either the URL of your post or your twitter profile.
  3. For a third entry, subscribe to the Momma’s Review RSS feed, leaving us a comment here to let us know. We’ll be posting more giveaways on Momma’s Review soon so subscribing will be a great way for you to stay informed about all the great things you can win in the days and weeks to come.
  4. For the last entry follow us on twitter and leave your username so we can verify. Make sure to leave a comment here to get this last entry.

This giveaway will run for 2 weeks.  It is available to US residents only.

We’ll announce the winner here on Friday February 13.

Winners will be chosen at random using random.org.

This giveaway is open to all US Residents.

About Jen E @ mommablogsalot

Mom to an 11 yr old son & a 7 year old daughter. I'm almost always found behind the camera, in front of the computer, lost in a good book or dragging my family on another new adventure.

95 responses to “Giveaway: Sansa slotMusic Player

  1. Destiny

    I would choose the Lady GaGa one. It was very hard to choose though.

  2. I’d love to win! I’d pick the all american rejects! I saw them in concert like 3 years ago with fall out boy and they are awesome!!

  3. This sounds very interesting! MAma Mia would be my choice.

  4. xoeskie

    i’d choose lady gaga for sure!

  5. Oh I’d choose so many – music is life happenin in my ears! Love it!

    Okay, had to choose my first one would be Chris Brown – Exclusive
    Second only to Daughtry!

    Luvin me some music!!
    Thanks for the opportunity! 🙂

  6. I am a follower already on Twitter! 🙂 LiveLaughLoveCj 🙂

  7. I’d get the Abba card cause im an old fart and abba was big when I was in highschool

  8. It would absolutely have to be Jimmy Buffet “Songs You Know By Heart” — because I *do* know them by heart!

    I’d love to win just to be able to sing along with “Pencil Thin Mustache” “Fins” and “He went to Paris” — it’d drive my husband nuts! lol

    kelly
    refibered

  9. Carolyn G

    I have to go with Elvis!

  10. Carolyn G

    I follow on twitter: carogonza

  11. Christine

    I would get Fall Out Boy.

  12. amandasue

    I’d go with Katy Perry. Thanks for entering me!

  13. cari king

    I would definitely choose sugarland.

  14. Yvonne

    daughtry
    Thanks for the contest.

  15. lisa

    I’d love ABBA.

  16. Rhianna, Katy Perry, or some rap for del. Oh but I really, really want a Brittany. So I’d have to go with her fo sho!

  17. I tweeted!

  18. I follow you on twitter!

  19. I would get the Jimmy Hendrix!

  20. I subscribe via feed demon

  21. Following on Twitter.
    Babasfarmlife

  22. Becky Grayson

    I would chose Sugarland. LOVE Jennifer’s voice and they are such a wonderful band that plays such moving music.

    Thanks so much!

    dbkagrayson2002 [at] gmail [dot] com

  23. Becky Grayson

    I subscribed via google reader!

  24. I would get the Mamma Mia card! I’ve been wanting to buy that one anyway. And this player sounds fantastic! Just my thing.

  25. I follow you on Twitter and I’m @momnerd. Thanksa!

  26. Cindi

    Great music player! I would love to have this for my walks!
    Abba is the music I would choose. Please enter me in your delightful giveaway drawing. I appreciate it!
    Thanks, Cindi

  27. Cindi

    I am subscribed to your feed! Thanks, Cindi

  28. twitter follower
    valerie2350

  29. Alli

    Jimi Hendrix!!

  30. I am subscribed to your feed! Thanks, Cindi

  31. jenna

    I would choose lady gaga. Thanks!

  32. Kristy

    Lady Gaga!

  33. I would pick Elvis- I love him 😉

  34. mary w

    jimmy buffet just love his music

  35. Melissa

    I would choose Daughtry.

  36. corinnama

    I would pick ABBA!

  37. Daughtry for sure! Awww yes. He’s a hottie. LOL

  38. Following on Twitter 🙂 @MrsCox

  39. Google reader subscriber, erinstargirl{at}msn{dot}com

  40. Oh Daughtry…..he’s so awesome!

    My fave’s are Coldplay…..or Maroon 5 though.

  41. angie

    All american rejects

  42. Beth

    I would pick Elvis

  43. I would pick Abba gold or Jimmy Buffett–Both classics! Thanks!

  44. Vicki wurgler

    I’d choose Sugarland

  45. Cheri

    I would choose Connie Talbot for my daughter. Thanks!

  46. I would choose Sugarland

  47. I would definately choose the rise against one. I am more into that kind of stuff then the hip hop and such

  48. me? i’d go with Weezer’s Red Album. They endlessly amuse me.

  49. I would choose Connie Talbot.
    M

  50. I would go with Elvis!

  51. I’m subscribed to your RSS feed.

  52. I tweeted your giveaway! (My username is @ThriftyJinxy)

  53. I’m following you on Twitter. (My username is @ThriftyJinxy)

  54. DG

    Abba! lol 🙂

  55. DG

    I follow you on twitter (dreamer08)

  56. I’d choose the Fall Out Boy…my daughter and I both love them!

  57. I follow you on twitter! mtejen and I tweeted too!

  58. Maureen

    Oh So many. I would start with Daughtery and then some Sugarland, and who knows from there. Thanks for hosting a great giveaway.
    Rene

  59. Kathy D

    I follow you on twitter kathy55439

  60. I would choose the Abba. I love Abba!!!
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

  61. I follow you on Twitter!
    Mama_Snow

  62. Angela Bailey

    I’d get the Chris Brown card for my son.

  63. Angela Bailey

    I follow you on Twitter. I am theladya. Thanks.

  64. Jessi

    Oh Elvis would so be my pick! Oh those lovely blue suade shoes!!!

  65. Sheila

    I would choose the Daughtry card!

  66. Sheila

    I follow you on twitter!

  67. Since they don’t have Coldplay, I’d have to go with Leona Lewis. =)

  68. I follow you on twitter…username jessalexander

  69. laura

    Ah yeah…Lynyrd Skynyrd Greatest Hits! Sweet!

  70. All American Rejects, hands down!

  71. I think I’d pick Shwayze.
    Thanks!

  72. I am subscribed to your RSS feed.
    Thanks!

  73. I follow you on Twitter (courtenay27)
    Thanks!

  74. I’d choose the Abba bundle

  75. Tweet:

  76. I follow on twitter: calliesan

  77. Dina

    I’d pick the Mamma Mia! soundtrack.

  78. Dina

    Follow you on Twitter (a i t m a m a).

  79. Dina

    Subscriber.

  80. I’d choose the Abba one – I love their songs and yes, I’m stuck way back then, lol.

    Thanks for this great giveaway!
    callmeabookworm at gmail dot com

  81. Following you on Twitter – callmeabookworm

    Thanks!

  82. I would choose the NKOTB or the Leona Lewis one. 🙂

Grab Momma’s Button



Found my Fit @ Lee

Proud to Be

Mommas Current Giveaways

Zero Water Ends April 24th

Kiss My Face Skin Care Products Ends April 22nd

Monsters vs Aliens Video Game Ends April 20th

...and more coming soon.

March for Babies

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 47,483 hits

Note

All products (unless stated otherwise) are provided to Mommas Review for review purposes. We do not receive any other sort of compensation for our reviews unless stated. We promise to provide our sincere and honest review of the product that is received.

Kristin’s Virtual Baby Shower

ExtaOrdinary Mothers

EM Sorority Sisterhood

Team Mom Member

MR is an Ethical Blogger

Ethical Blogger

Click Free

Kristin @ An Ordinary Life

Jennifer @ Rundpinne

Jennifer @ Eighty MPH Mom

Sky @ Seeryus Mama

Casey @ Couch with a View

Casey’s Snazzy Summer

Toni @ Daily Dose of Toni

Live Laugh Love and Bloggings

Amy @ Coffee with the Mrs.

Erin @ Mrs. Cox’s Slice o’ Heaven

Angie @ Simple Life

Queen Mommy Sarah

Lori @ Downs Gang

The Mom Buzz

Stacy @ Tree Root & Wig

Linda @ My Trendy Tykes

Hyla @ Green Earth

Snow Mama

Lolli @ 1 Mom of 5

Ariazink

Paperback Designs

Moo Musings

Collyn @ Mommies Angels

Piece of Me

Lyric and Adrias Mom

A Nut In A Nutshell

Michelle @ Crazy Life

Sweeps Advantage

